Metahead and Hardcore Kid Problems (Part 1)

1) Waking up with whiplash, or worse, after every gig due to excessive headbanging and or moshing. I have woken up with bruises covering my body like a piece of modern art, but I wouldn’t trade it for anything else.
2) Non Metal/Hardcore People asking “how can you like that music?” however they lose their shit when you say you hate chart music. I get that heavier music isn’t to everyone’s musical taste, but why should I have to justify myself for listening to it?
3) Having to explain that not all bands are Satan summoning, church burning nut jobs. Yes a minority of bands do these things but it’s like saying all rappers rap about bitches and hoes, it’s just not true.
4) Dealing with hatred towards Metal from hardcore kids and Hardcore from Metalheads. Being a fan of the two I am constantly caught in the cross fire and sometimes it can get brutal and I thought heavy music fans were the most tolerant people in the musical community.
5) “It’s not real music”… I’ll just let that statement sink in… Sunk in yet? Music is defined in the Oxford English Dictionary as ‘Vocal or instrumental sounds (or both) combined in such a way as to produce beauty of form, harmony, and expression of emotion’ so yeah, it is real music.
6) Elitist pricks. No one needs these people who disregard anything that slightly different from their favourite band. They can be distinguished from this phrase “That’s not true metal/hardcore”. I know there are some terrible bands out there, I really do, but you can’t just deny their genre purely on your hatred for them. It just doesn’t work like that I’m sorry.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

