Album Review: Modern Ruin by Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes

I know, I know, I know it isn’t as heavy or punk/hardcore driven as Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes debut album . Frank Carter did give us plenty of notice that Modern Ruin was going to be more rock orientated. However as a fan of the work Frank did in Pure Love I am okay with this, as it still has that punk ethic and attitude that shines through most of his work.

The guitar tone is still one of my favourite aspects of both Modern Ruin and Blossom. It contains the same DIY and raw sound to it even though the music itself is vastly difference. The music is a lot more melodic this time round, some may call it Radio 1 bait but I don’t necessarily feel this way. It is catchy for sure, especially in the first half of the album. Lullaby and Vampires will resonate in your head as the easy listening riffs and drum beats do their best to keep you bobbing along. Then incomes  the incredibly well written lyrics for the choruses. They aren’t flooded with words upon words instead leaving them short and sweet.

In the second half of the album things certainly pick up. The strongest point for me is definitely the end of Modern Ruin. It just revs up the Carter to the max, showing off his vocals to their full. Thunder echoes like The Smiths just harsher, with a dark post-punk vibe.  Franks voice just suits this unrefined style keeping his punchy accent instead of reverting to an ‘Americanised’ one like so many others. The titular track ,Modern Ruin, is very hard hitting. The song is by far my favourite off the album and I regret not including it on my top 5 singles of 2016, I still have nightmares about that decision.  It picks up were God Is My Friend leaves us, dragging the punk baton to the verge of breaking into all out aggression. There is also something about the closing track. Neon Rust reminds me of a depressing song that a TV program would feature at the end of an episode. You know the types of scene, it would be raining and the character would be walking off into the distance. What a way to end an album.

I loved Modern Ruin. For me it was a nice break from the all out, rage inducing music that we saw in their debut, Blossom. It shows a more rock driven sound with some post-punk attitudes thrown in for good measure. However I can’t justify giving Modern Ruin a higher score than Blossom as it doesn’t have the force and impact that blew me away. Modern Ruin is a solid 8.5/10, an excellent album if you can get over the reduction in heaviness and if you can’t… well it’s your loss.

Leave a Reply

