200th Post Special! 10 Bands / Artist You’ll be Surprised I Like

200 posts… 200 bloody posts. Never thought I’d reach this number but here we are. I am often stereotyped as the ’metalhead’ or ‘hardcore kid’ with these genres being my favourites, but my music taste spans so many genres, eras and sounds. People are often surprised by artist and bands that I enjoy. Most people would describe this sort of stuff as their ‘guilty’ pleasure but that is both an insult to guilt and these artists. So, prepare to see 70s and 80s pop, 00s boy bands and country as I celebrate my 200th post by looking at 10 bands or artists that you may be surprised that I like.

A few rules before we begin. Firstly, this list is no particular order. Secondly, I won’t be talking about bands or artist that are beloved by even the most ardent members of the heavy metal community so no Prince, Johnny Cash, Beastie Boys, Queen etc as it should come s urprise that I would love these guys. Thirdly no bands or artists I have spoken at length about loving so no Ultravox, N.W.A, Wu Tang Clan, Asteroid Boys etc. With that being said let me lose all credibility with all the elitist out there by diving into these 10 artists.

10) ABBA

Let’s start nice and simple. I am a man who loves a bit of ABBA. It is corny, cheesy 70s/80s pop but also some the catchiest, well written and produced pop out there. I’m not sure anyone can truly hate ABBA. I mean people can dislike them but out right hate… The Swedish superstars might just be the quintessential band of their era and people today still know at least one of their songs. Probably helped by those god-awful Momma Mia films but for me it has always been about straight up ABBA. I could even give a middle-aged woman a good run for her money in jamming out any of their songs at karaoke. ABBA are everyone’s ‘guilt pleasure’ which is such a kick in the teeth to the band and their music as it has got plenty of heart and soul.

9) Busted

I grew up in the 90s and early 00s when Busted hit their stride. They were massive. Everyone wanted the frosted tips, the baggy cargo trousers, those beaded necklace choker things. Basically, everyone wanted to be a member of Busted. I often give a lot of praise to my dad for introducing me to the likes of Black Sabbath but without bands like Sum-41, Blink 182 and unashamedly Busted I wouldn’t have turned my head into finding my own path within the world of music. It is weird to say but this pop-rock trio with their silly songs about childhood issues of girls, hot teachers, hot airhostesses and the distant future of the Year 3000 set me off to finding the insanely different sounds of metal, hardcore and punk.

8) Elton John

Although I prefer the screams, shouts and growls of hardcore or metal, I also appreciate a fantastic singing voice. Elton John is, for me, one of the best singers around. The man has made some of the best pop music I’ve ever heard. He was seemingly born to become a popstar with his stage presence, those out of this world costumes, the charity work and a career that spans over 50 years. As for his music, it out shines all of this. If you stripped back all of the flamboyances, all the hype his voice, piano work and musicianship would still be sensational and, for me, the main focus to his fame. Elton John is at his finest when he is just one man and his piano.

7) Five

Oh no, a boy band… really Sam? Yeah, I ain’t ashamed. Five were created as to be the epitome of attitude and edge in the form of a boy band. Cynical as all hell but back then, little Sam didn’t have a clue about manufactured sound and image so I genuinely thought these guys were the coolest cats on the block. How naïve I was as years later I released it was all created. It was all just produced to sell as many records as possible to the youth. However, the music has held up relatively well. There is a fair amount of funk, early hip-hop vibes and rap to give the standard boy band formula a bit of flair.

6) Phil Collins

Phil Collins gets so much hate for his character and personality but musically… Often cited as bland, generic but this often describes most of the pop music being produced around this time and in retrospect isn’t as terrible as it is made out to be. For me his music is fantastic easy listening, providing me something to sing along to when I’ve done moshing my bedroom to oblivion, Phil Collins is the man I turn to when I need to just relax and sit back. As for his label as ‘the man who killed Genesis.’ Yes, early Genesis is still my all-time favourite era. The more psychedelic, prog rock nature of the band was captivating as all hell but come on. They still produced some absolutely great albums when Phil took over on vocals and Genesis gravitated more towards the pop rock vibe. Their titular effort, We Can’t Dance and Invisible Touch are catchy and well produced pieces of pop that can stand on their own merit.

5) The Lonely Island

Childish, immature, nonsensical but surprisingly well written and clever. The Lonely Island, for those who don’t know, are a comedy trio who sprung out of Saturday Night Live fame. They are notorious for writing song out right mocking the world of modern rap. Whether their taking pot shots at the ridiculous machismo, the overtly sexual lyrics, the obscene wealth or just genuinely rapping in poor monotone voices. It is all over the top, stupid, juvenile and so very, very funny. To top this all off, they often get artist from the actual ‘proper’ world of music to join them such as Justin Timberlake hiding his dick in a box, Akon announcing he just had sex or Nicki Minaj hiding in a boy’s locker room. Akiva Schaffer, Andy Samberg and Jorma Taccone are just having a laugh and occasionally that is exactly what I need.

4) Dexys Midnight Runners

Who remembers these guys? Who knows Come On Eileen? I think everyone who has attendant a British wedding has heard of this song. Well then you have inadvertently heard of Dexys Midnight Runners as this is their hit song. However, the band has a slew of other songs, albums and even an appearance on one of my favourite TV sit-coms, The Young Ones that everyone should have heard of. From their punky, ska influenced new-wave debut album to the classic, Too-Rye-Ay, and even their surprisingly great recent release Let the Record Show: Dexys Do Irish and Country Soul. It is all fantastic. I have made it my mission to eliminate the view that these guys are ‘one hit wonders’ with Come On Eileen being the only song people ever hear. Seriously take a listen to their entire back catalogue and loose yourself in their music for an evening.

3) Randy Travis

A country singer. Yeah that’s right a country singer. I’m not opposed to the occasional little bit of country. My love of Irish folk music has been long documented but it’s American country cousin? There is something extremely calming and relaxing to Randy Travis’ music. It is simple and doesn’t jump straight out of your speakers but it works. It gets you singing along and slowly swaying your head. It is amazing that Randy Travis became a one of the leading men in the neocountry movement considering his demo tapes were rejected countless times in his early career and boy am I glad someone picked up on his music. I don’t like that much country but Randy Travis is an exception.

2) Billy Joel

The Piano Man is a legend. With a musical career that spans over several decades, a place in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, more than 150 million records sold and 33 top forty hits is it any wonder why many love this guy. As for me it was one song that started it off, We Didn’t Start the Fire. I couldn’t get enough of this song growing up. All the references to not just musical history but the historical events, catchy chorus, bouncy melody and rhythm drew me into Billy Joel’s music and what did I find? Well 13 studio albums of spot on pop that merged into the worlds of soft-rock, lounge music, country, folk and even punky new wave. I would happily sit through an entire day of Billy Joel and maintain undivided attention as the music draws me further and further in.

1) Cher

When people ask me who some of my favourite singers are would 100% mention Cher. Her voice is huge. Whether it is accompanied by the pulse pounding beats of electric guitars and drums or the calming nature of a simple piano, it is her voice that takes centre stage. I’m just annoyed that she was the starting point for auto tuning every popstars voice. Believe is a great song but does not compare to her early work when Cher was belting out her vocals with all of the power, melody and unaltered ferocity of a pop goddess.

1 Comments

Leave a comment